First meeting of the Board of the Faculty of Social Sciences discusses various academic matters of the faculty

Posted on 10 Jun, 2024 - Published by

The first Board of Faculty meeting of the Faculty of Social Sciences was held on the 6th of June 2024 at the University of Turbat (UoT). Dr. Mansoor Ahmed, Acting Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Pro Vice-Chancellor at UoT, chaired the meeting via video link. During the meeting, the minutes of the Departmental Boards of Studies of the Political Science, Sociology, and Education Departments were discussed, reviewed, and approved. Various matters related to the academic development of each teaching department were also discussed and resolved. The members emphasized the importance of implementing decisions made by statutory bodies, such as the Departmental Board of Studies, the Board of Faculty, and the Academic Council, to pursue academic excellence at the university. Each Department’s Chairman provided a detailed overview of their respective departmental activities, challenges, and preparedness for the upcoming semester and the next academic year.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Mansoor Ahmed expressed his hope that the first Board of Faculty meeting would establish a strong foundation for future academic excellence at the university. He reiterated the administration's commitment to academic progress and infrastructure development. Pro Vice-Chancellor emphasized the importance of collective commitment, as well as interdisciplinary and inter-departmental collaboration, to enhance the learning and research environment at the university.

The meeting was attended by its members, including Mr. Changiz Ahmed, Chairman of the Political Science Department, Dr. Muhammad Yasin, Chairman of the Sociology Department, Mr. Manzoor Ahmed Chairman of the Education Department, Dr. Adnan Riaz, Assistant Professor of the English Department, Dr. Abdul Majid Nasir, Controller Examinations, Dr. Riaz Ahmed, Director Quality Enhancement Cell (QEC), Dr. Muzaffir Hussain, Assistant Professor Political Science Department, Mr. Bahadin Lecturer Political Science Department, Ms. Mahnaz Aslam, Assistant professor Education Department, Mr. Noral Barkat, Lecturer Sociology Department, Mr. Balach Khan, Lecturer Computer Science Department and Mr. Jeand Ibrahim, Lecturer Natural and Basic Sciences Department.